India reclaims Border-Gavaskar Trophy with 2-1 series victory of Australia

India’s KL Rahul scored an unbeaten half-century, while Ajinkya Rahane made an aggressive 37 runs in the fourth Test.

Created On: Mar 28, 2017 14:03 ISTModified On: Mar 29, 2017 08:48 IST

India on 28 March 2017 achieved a remarkable victory over Australia in the fourth Test by chasing down the 106-run target inside the first session.

India’s KL Rahul scored an unbeaten half-century, while Ajinkya Rahane made an aggressive 37 runs.

With the fourth test win, India won the series 2-1 and reclaimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy from Australia.

Ravindra Jadeja was declared the Man of the Match and also the Man of the Series.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2017

The 2017 Border-Gavaskar Trophy

The Australian cricket team toured India in February and March 2017.

DRS was used for the first time in the Border–Gavaskar Trophy in this series; however, Hot Spot was not used.

India and Australia played four Test matches.

First Test:

The match was played from 23–27 February 2017 at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune. It was the first Test match at this venue.

Australia’s Mitchell Starc passed 1000 runs in Tests.

India’s Ravichandran Ashwin overtook Kapil Dev's record for the most wickets in a season in India.

CA eBook

Second Test:

The match was played from 4–8 March 2017 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.

It was the first time in a Test that four different bowlers each took six wickets in an innings.

Third Test:

The match was played from 16–20 March 2017 at the JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi.

Australia’s Steve Smith passed 5000 runs in Tests, becoming the third-fastest and youngest Australian batsman to do so.

Australia’s Glenn Maxwell scored his maiden Test century and became the second player for Australia to score a century in all three international formats.

Fourth Test:

The match was played from 25–29 March 2017 at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala.

India’s Ajinkya Rahane captained India for the first time in Tests.

India’s Kuldeep Yadav made his test debut.

About Border-Gavaskar Trophy

The Border–Gavaskar Trophy is a Test cricket series.

It is played between India and Australia.

It is named after Australia's Allan Border and India's Sunil Gavaskar.

At present, it is played via the International Cricket Council's future tours program, with varying lengths of time between matches.

If the series is drawn, then the country holding the trophy retains it.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

8 + 8 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all