International Women’s Day 2015 observed with theme Make it Happen

The theme for the 2015 International Women’s Day is Make it Happen and it encourages effective action for advancing and recognizing women.

Mar 9, 2015 09:09 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

8 March: International Women’s Day
International Women’s Day was observed across the world on 8 March 2015.  The theme for the year 2015 is Make it Happen and it encourages effective action for advancing and recognizing women.

The theme was declared by United Nations.

The day represents an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of women while calling for greater equality.

The day sees several events to mark the economic, political and social achievements of women. These events are organised by governments, charities, educational institutions, women's groups, corporation, media and other institutions.

International Women’s Day (IWD): Timeline
The second International Conference of Working Women was held in 2010 in Copenhagen and the idea of International Women’s Day was tabled by Clara Zetkin, the Leader of the 'Women's Office' for the Social Democratic Party in Germany.


At Copenhagen in 1911, International Women's Day (IWD) was honoured for the first time in Austria, Denmark, Germany and Switzerland on 19 March.


On the last Sunday of February, that is 23 February, Russian women began a strike for "bread and peace" in response to the death over 2 million Russian soldiers in war. This forced the Czars to abdicate and the provisional Government granted women the right to vote. The date 23 February was according to the Julian calendar which was then in use in Russia. This day on the Gregorian calendar in use elsewhere was 8 March.


United Nations designated 1975 as International Women's Year

Since 2000, IWD is celebrated as official holiday in some countries. These are Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cuba, Georgia, Guinea-Bissau, Eritrea, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Zambia.

In China, Nepal and Madagascar the official holiday is granted for women only.



Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए