Ravichandran Ashwin receives Garfield Sobers Trophy

Mar 28, 2017 17:15 IST

Ravichandran Ashwin receives Garfield Sobers TrophyRavichandran Ashwin on 28 March 2017 was awarded the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in Dharamsala.

Ashwin was honoured with the trophy for being named the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016.

With 48 wickets and 336 runs against his name in eight Tests, and 27 wickets in 19 Twenty20 Internationals during the voting period, Ashwin was a popular choice for the prestigious title.

With this, Ashwin has become the third Indian and the 12th player overall to win the award.

The award was judged by a voting academy, which was completely independent of the ICC. They panel took into consideration performances between 14 September 2015 and 20 September 2016. During this period, Ashwin produced some extraordinary all-round performances across all three formats of the game.

Other recipients of the award include Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Andrew Flintoff, Jacques Kallis Ricky Ponting and others.

Top 300 CA eBook

About Garfield Sobers Trophy

The Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy is awarded annually by the ICC to its chosen world player of the year.

It was first awarded in 2004 to Indian cricketer Rahul Dravid.

The trophy is handcrafted by leading international crystal manufacturer Swarovski.

The trophy’s design showcases a red crystal cricket ball studded with over 4200 Swarovski crystal chantons, resting on a brass hand extended from a gold-plated base.

The trophy is named after former West Indies cricket captain Sir Garfield Sobers.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes9 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK