Recep Tayyip Erdogan sworn in as 12th President of Turkey

Recep Tayyip Erdogan was sworn in on 28 August 2014 as 12th President of Turkey. The ceremony...

Created On: Aug 28, 2014 17:19 ISTModified On: Aug 28, 2014 17:28 IST

Recep Tayyip Erdogan was sworn in on 28 August 2014 as 12th President of Turkey. He was sworn-in a ceremony held at Parliament of Turkey in Ankarra. The ceremony was attended by Heads of state from a dozen nations in Eastern Europe, Africa, Central Asia and the Middle East.

Earlier in the first ever presidential election, based on popular vote, held in August 2014, he won the elections with 51.79 percent of vote. His opposition Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu, the former head of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation received 38.44 percent and Kurdish politician Selahattin Demirtas came third with 9.76 percent.

He belongs to Justice and Development of Party (or AK Party) and was serving as Prime Minister of Turkey since 2003.

About President of Turkey

The office of the President of Turkey was established with the proclamation of the Republic of Turkey on 29 October 1923.

The President of Turkey is the head of state of the Republic of Turkey. The Presidency is largely a ceremonial office but has some important functions. In this capacity he represents the Republic of Turkey, and the unity of the Turkish nation; he ensures the implementation of the Turkish Constitution, and the organized and harmonious functioning of the organs of state.

Election of President

The president was elected by a system based on closed list proportional representation according to the D'Hondt method. To participate in the distribution of seats, a party must obtain at least 10% of the votes cast at the national level as well as a percentage of votes in the contested district according to a complex formula.

According to an amendment in 2007, the future Presidents were to be elected by the citizens through a public vote.

The president will be elected for a five year term. President will be eligible for a second term.

 About Turkey

Turkey got its freedom in 1923 from Ottoman Empire. Mustafa Kemal Ataturk was regarded as the modern founder of Turkey. He has established turkey as a republic country.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 9 =