Union Government finalises new cadre policy for IAS, IPS, IFoS officers

Aug 24, 2017 15:17 IST

 Union Government finalises new cadre policy for IAS, IPS, IFoS officers The Union Government has finalised a new policy for cadre allocation for IAS, IPS and other officers with the aim of ensuring national integration in the country's top bureaucracy.

The new policy would require officers of all-India services including the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS) and Indian Forest Service (IFoS) to choose cadres from a set of zones instead of states.

Key Highlights

• The officers currently employed under the three services are allocated a cadre state or a set of states to work in.

• They may be posted on central deputation during the course of their service after fulfilling certain eligibility conditions.

• In the newly proposed policy, the existing 26 cadres have been divided into five zones:

Zone-I includes seven cadres: AGMUT (Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territories), Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Rajasthan and Haryana.

Zone-II comprises Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand and Odisha.

Zone-III consists of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

Zone-IV will constitute West Bengal, Sikkim, Assam-Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura and Nagaland.

Zone-V will comprise Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

CA eBook

Overall, the new policy will ensure national integration of the bureaucracy, as officers will get a chance to work in a state that is not their place of domicile for instance, officers from a particular state such as Bihar, will get to work in southern and north-eastern states, which may not be their preferred cadres.

Elaborating on the same, an official said, "All-India service officers are supposed to have varied experiences which can be earned when they work in a different state, which is new to them. The officers may not be able to experiment new things if they work in their own domicile state.”

Main provisions of the Policy

• With the implementation of the new policy, candidates appearing for the civil services examination will have to first give their choices in a descending order of preference from among the various zones.

• The candidates would be allowed to indicate cadres in order of preference from each zone. A candidate can list all 26 cadres.

• The preference for the zones will remain in the same order and no change will be permitted there.

• If a candidate does not give any preference for any of the zones/cadres, it will be presumed that he has no specific preference for those zones/cadres.

• If candidates are not allocated any one of their preferred cadres, they shall be allotted any of the remaining cadres, arranged in an alphabetical order, wherever there are vacancies.

• Candidates will be allotted their home cadre on the basis of merit, preference and vacancy in the category.

The new policy is likely to be put into effect from this year.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK