Uttarakhand CM Oath Ceremony 2022: Pushkar Singh Dhami takes oath as 11th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand CM Oath: Pushkar Singh Dhami has been sworn in as the 11 Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. Eight Cabinet Ministers have also been sworn in. Check all details regarding the oath-taking ceremony here. 

Created On: Mar 22, 2022 14:26 ISTModified On: Mar 23, 2022 18:47 IST
Pushkar Singh Dhami takes oath Uttarakhand CM at Parade Ground
Pushkar Singh Dhami takes oath Uttarakhand CM at Parade Ground

Uttarakhand CM Oath Ceremony 2022: Pushkar Singh Dhami took oath as the 12th Uttarakhand Chief Minister at a grand ceremony at the Parade Ground in Dehradun on March 23, 2022. The 46-year-old is the youngest Chief Minister of the state. This will be his second consecutive term.

Eight Cabinet Ministers were also sworn in along with the Chief Minister. The 8 Cabinet Ministers include Satpal Maharaj, Premchand Aggarwal, Ganesh Joshi, Dhan Singh Rawat, Subodh Uniyal, Rekha Arya, Chandan Ram Das and Saurabh Bahuguna. 

All the Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states attended the oath-taking ceremony of Uttarakhand Chief Minister including Goa CM-designate Pramod Sawant, UP CM-designate Yogi Adityanath,  Rajasthan BJP leader Vasundhara Raje, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and other BJP leaders.

Pushkar Singh Dhami was elected as the leader of the BJP Legislative Party in Uttarakhand on March 21st, ending days of speculation. Rajnath Singh and Union Minister of State for External Affairs Meenakshi Lekhi were the central observer in the BJP legislative party meeting of Uttarakhand. 

Pushkar Dhami takes oath as CM for second time

Pushkar Singh Dhami was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand for the second time. He was first elected as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand replacing Trivendra Singh Rawat on July 4, 2021 and served for less than a year as assembly elections were due. He had led the party's poll campaign in the state as the Chief Minister during the Uttarakhand Assembly Elections 2022 but ended up losing his own seat from Khatima constituency to Congress candidate Bhuwan Chandra Kapri by a margin of 6,579 votes, raising speculations regarding whether he will be given the top job again. Dhami had won twice from the seat earlier. 

Several names had cropped on who the next Uttarakhand Chief Minister will be including former Union Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, MLA Dhan Singh Rawat, Union Minister of State for Defence Ajay Bhatt, Uttarakhand Tourism Minister Satpal Maharaj and Rajya Sabha member Anil Baluni. However, the newly-elected BJP party MLAs elected Pushkar Dhami as their party leader. 

Uttarakhand Election Results 2022

The BJP won 47 seats in the 70-member state assembly in the Uttarakhand Elections 2022. The Congress won 19 seats, while BSP won 2 seats and two independents also won one seat each. 

Two key candidates - incumbent Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami and former Uttarakhand CM Harish Rawat were defeated from their respective constituencies. The Uttarakhand Assembly Polls 2022 were held in a single phase on February 14th. 

Check Uttarakhand Election Results 2022 here

About Pushkar Singh Dhami 

  • Pushkar Singh Dhami was born in 1975 in Pithoragarh district. 
  • He is the son of an ex-serviceman and holds a law degree.
  • He initially worked as a Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) volunteer. 
  • He was also previously a member of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the student organisation affiliated to RSS.
  • He had also been BJP Yuva Morcha's President in Uttarakhand twice between 2002 and 2008.

Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami resigns along with cabinet

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Read the latest Current Affairs updates and download the Monthly Current Affairs PDF for UPSC, SSC, Banking and all Govt & State level Competitive exams here.
Comment (0)

Post Comment

2 + 8 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF April 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF March 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF February 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF January 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF December 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF April 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF March 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF February 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF January 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF December 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    View all