West Bengal wins 2016-17 Santosh Trophy

Mar 27, 2017 14:15 IST

West Bengal on 26 March 2017 lifted the Santosh Trophy for the 32nd time at the GMC Stadium, Bambolim, Goa.

West Bengal’s Manvir Singh struck in the 119th minute for a 1-0 win over Goa.

With the win, West Bengal ended a six-year wait having last won the title in 2011. Goa last won the title in the year 2009.

CA eBook

About Santosh Trophy

The Santosh Trophy is an association football knock-out competition.

It is contested by the regional state associations and government institutions under the All India Football Federation (AIFF).

Before the start of the National Football League in 1996, the Santosh Trophy was considered the top domestic championship in the country.

The competition is held every year with 31 teams who are divided into groups and who must qualify for the tournament proper through the preliminary round.

The competition was started in 1941.

The tournament is named after the president of the Indian Football Association (West Bengal's football association) at the time, Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh.

The 2015–16 edition of the tournament was won by Services.

Quick Digest

Who: West Bengal

Where: Bambolim , Goa

What: Won 2016-17 Santosh Trophy

When: 26 March 2017

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Santosh Trophy , Football , West Bengal , Goa , Manvir Singh

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK