CBSE Class 10 New Assessment Structure 2017-2018

After the CBSE Board announced the Board Exams to be comulsary in Class 10, the dual assessment scheme in class 10 has been demolished. Here you will get the detailes of the latest assessment structure and exam pattern for CBSE Class 10.

Created On: Nov 28, 2017 11:39 IST
Modified On: Dec 7, 2017 13:33 IST
CBSE Class 10 Latest Assessment Structure
CBSE Class 10 Latest Assessment Structure

This year, with the reintroduction of Board Exams in CBSE Class 10, the board also brought a significant change in the assessment scheme for the class. According to the new assessment structure the CCE and term systems have been replaced by the single annual exam by CBSE itself. The exam conducted by CBSE will carry 80 marks and rest 20 marks are kept with schools for internal assessment (IA). 

IA comprises:

  • Periodic Tests (PT) with weightage of 10 marks each
  • Notebook Submission of 5 marks
  • Subject Enrichment Activities of 5 marks.

Three periodic written tests are to conducted in the entire academic year and the average of the best two will be considered for the final weightage. For the purpose of gradient learning, three periodic tests may be held as one being the mid-term test and other two being pre mid and post mid-term with the portion of syllabus cumulatively covered. 

CBSE Class 10 Board Exam 2017-18: Preparation strategy for changed exam structure

Find below the details of CBSE Class 10 New Exam Structure & Marking Scheme:

1. 80 Marks Board Examination:

  • Board will conduct Class-X Examination for 80 marks in each subject covering 100% syllabus of the subject of Class-X only.
  • Student has to secure 33% marks out of 80 marks in each subject.
  • Marks and Grades both will be awarded for Individual subjects.
  • 9-point grading will be same as followed by the Board in Class XII.

2. 20 Marks Internal Assessment:

Student has to secure 33% marks out of overall 20 marks earmarked in each subject. Internal assessment consists of

(i) Periodic Test:

  • Three Periodic Written Tests are to be conducted in each subject in an Academic Year.
  • Each periodic test will carry 10 marks.
  • Average of the best two tests to be taken for final marks submission.


  • Three Periodic Tests will help student prepare for the Annual Board Examination.
  • It will help teachers to keep a track of the students’ learning thoughout the year.

(ii) Notebook Submission

  • This is to give weightage to student’s regularity,  assignment completion, neatness & upkeep of notebook.
  • Notebook submission will hold 5 marks for Periodic Test.


  • It will help to improve students’ ability to prepare notes as well as assignments in a neat and tidey way and that too on time.
  • This will inculcate the qualities of regularity, punctuality and neatness among the students.

(iii) Subject Enrichment Activity

It will cover

  • Speaking and listening skills in Language Subjects
  • Practical lab work in Science.
  • Math lab practical in Mathematics.
  • Map work and project work in Social Science

 Subject Enrichment Activity will also add 5 marks to Periodic Test.


  • These are the subject specific activities which will help in better understanding of the subject  and skill development.
  • Languages: It aims at equipping the students with effective speaking and listening skills.
  • Mathematics: The laboratory activities and projects will give a hold over the concepts and fundamentals of Mathematics.
  • Science: The practical works/ activities prescribed by the CBSE in the curriculum, will help to understand the application of scientific laws and terms in the real life world.
  • Social Science: Map and project work prescribed by the CBSE in the curriculum, will give a better understanding of the geographical locations.

NCERT BOOKS Vs CBSE Board Question Papers

Top Tips to Prepare an Effective Study Timetable


Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
Comment (0)

Post Comment

8 + 4 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.