1. Home
  2. |  
  3. Bank Recruitment |  

Scheduled Banking Structure in India

Mar 3, 2016 17:24 IST

    Scheduled bank, is usually private, nationalized and foreign banks, refers to a bank which is listed in the 2nd schedule of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. Scheduled banks are authorized to carry out the normal business of banking such as accepting deposits, giving out loans and other banking services. A scheduled bank is eligible for seeking loans at bank rate from RBI. They are also entitled to membership to clearing houses.

    Scheduled Banks are further classified into two Major categories: -

    a. Scheduled commercial Banks

    • Public Sector Banks

    A. Nationalized Banks
    B. State Bank of India and its associate
    C. Other Indian Public sector Banks

    • Regional Rural Banks
    • Foreign Banks
    • Private Banks

    b. Scheduled Co-operative Banks

    • Scheduled State Co-operative Banks
    • Scheduled Urban Co-operative Banks

    A. Public Sector Banks: -  Currently, there are 27 Public Sector Banks in India that includes SBI(& its 5 other associate banks) and 19 Nationalized Banks. Apart from that, another two banks are IDBI and Bhartiya Mahila Bank, which come under this category.

    i. SBI and its associates: - State Bank of India is the Biggest & oldest banking & a Financial company in India by assets. The Current Five associate banks are: -

    • State Bank of Patiala
    • State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur
    • State Bank of Hyderabad
    • State bank of Travancore
    • State Bank of Mysore

    ii. Nationalized Banks: - There are 19 Nationalized Banks given below: -

    1) Allahabad Bank

    2) Andhra Bank

    3) Bank of Baroda

    4) Indian Overseas Bank

    5) Oriental Bank of Commerce

    6) Punjab & Sind Bank

    7) Punjab National Bank

    8) Syndicate Bank

    9) UCO Bank

    10) Union Bank of India

    11) United Bank of India

    12) Vijaya Bank

    13) Bank of India

    14) Bank of Maharashtra

    15) Canara Bank

    16) Central Bank of India

    17) Corporation Bank

    18) Dena Bank

    19) Indian Bank

    B.  Foreign  Banks: - There are 43 foreign banks operating in India at present as per the RBI statistics. Most of them are niche players.In this context, RBI policy based upon two principles.

    i. Reciprocity
    ii. Single Mode of presence

    HSBC Ltd., Deutsche Bank, Bank of America, Citibank, Barclays Bank, Standard Chartered Bank, etc. are some of them.

    C. Private Sector Banks: - There are 23 private sector banks as per the revised guidelines issued by RBI. Some of the private sector banks are as follows: -

    - Axis Bank

    - HDFC Bank

    - ICICI Bank

    - IndusInd Bank

    - Kotak Mahindra Bank

    - Yes Bank, etc.

    D. Rural Regional Bank: - RRB are Government owned Banks, but are not commercial Banks. At Present, There are 56 RRBs in total listed under RBI.  Each RRB is owned by three entities with their respective shares as follows: -

    • Central Government-  50%
    • State Government- 15%
    • Sponsor Bank- 35%

    They are regulated by NABARD.

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK

    Register to view Complete PDF