1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Chennai Super Kings won 2014 Champions League Twenty20 title

Oct 6, 2014 09:09 IST

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on 4 October 2014 won the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) 2014 title of Cricket. CSK lifted the title by defeating Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 8 wickets in the final match played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

To help Chennai Super Kings win the CLT20 title, Suresh Raina scored 109 off 62 balls with the help of six fours and eight sixes. His century came off only in 59 balls. With this century, Raina became the only player to score a century in T20 Internationals, IPL and CLT20 tournaments.

Brief Scores

• Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) that batted first scored 180 runs at the loss of 6 wickets
• Chennai Super Kings (CSK) chased the competitive target by scoring 185 runs at the loss of 2 wickets in 18.3 over

Captain of the two teams
Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): Gautam Gambhir

Man of the Match:
Pawan Negi, for his bowling figures of 5 for 22
Man of the Series: Suresh Raina (CSK)
Golden Bat Award: Suresh Raina (CSK)
Golden Wicket Award: Sunil Narine (KKR)
Fair Play Award: Cape Cobras
Power Player of the Series: Suresh Raina (CSK)

Chennai Super Kings have won the trophy second time. Earlier they won the CLT20 in South Africa, back in 2011. CSK lost IPL final to KKR in 2012.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes79 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK