IISc professor Sriram Ramaswamy became Royal Society Fellow

May 2, 2016 15:17 IST

Sriram RamaswamyPhysicist Sriram Ramaswamy, Director of TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences, Hyderabad, was elected as the Fellow of The Royal Society, as announced on 29 April 2016. His name appeared on the list of 50 new fellows and 10 new Foreign Members announced by the Royal Society.

Besides, biochemist Ramanujan Hegde, MRC Laboratory of Microbiology, U.K. and applied mathematician Lakshminarayanan Mahadevan, Harvard University, are the other two Indian names who were also elected as the fellows of the premier scientific academy of the U.K. and the Commonwealth.

About Sriram Ramaswamy

Sriram directs the TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences in Hyderabad, and is on leave from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Among the awards he has received for his research are the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in 2000 and the Infosys Prize in 2011.

His research helped found the field of Active Matter, which studies the collective behaviour of objects, such as motile organisms.

He is widely known for formulating the hydrodynamic equations governing the alignment, flow, mechanics and statistical properties of suspensions of self-propelled creatures, on scales from a cell to the ocean.

About Lakshminarayanan Mahadevan

L Mahadevan was born in India, and was educated there through college.

He completed his PhD at Stanford University.

He started his independent career at MIT.

His work has been recognized by awards that include the Edgerton Prize at MIT and the Ledlie Prize at Harvard.

His work attempts to understand the geometrical and dynamical patterns of shape and flow in physical and biological matter.

About Ramanujan Hegde

Ramanujan Hegde is a biochemist whose research has deepened humans’ understanding of how newly made proteins are localised correctly inside cells.

His research contributions have been recognized by the R.R. Bensley award in Cell Biology in 2008, and his election as a Member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation in 2013.

About Royal Society

The President, Council, and Fellows of the Royal Society of London for Improving Natural Knowledge, commonly known as the Royal Society, is a learned society for science. It is possibly the oldest such society still in existence.

It was founded in November 1660.

It was granted a royal charter by King Charles II as The Royal Society.

The society is governed by its Council, which is chaired by the Society's President, according to a set of statutes and standing orders.

The members of Council and the President are elected from and by its Fellows, the basic members of the society, who are themselves elected by existing Fellows.

The current Royal Society President is Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, who took up the post on 30 November 2015.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK