Mumbai's Western Railways wins Surjit Trophy

Nov 11, 2016 11:59 IST

Surjit TrophyMumbai's Western Railways women's team on 10 November 2016 won the 33rd Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament.

The team defeated Haryana XI 4-2 in the title clash played at the Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium in Jalandhar.

In the 14th minute of the game, Western Railways’s Anupa Barla netted the ball after dodging goalkeeper Shewata of Haryana. She struck again in the 34th minute to make it 2-0.

In the second half, Haryana girls scored two goals in 40th and 50th minutes of the game to reduce the margin. Jaspreet Kaur and Neha scored goals for the team. Western Railways Mayengbam Lily Chanu and Manjit Kaur then struck to complete the score sheet.

The winners were presented a cash award of 1 lakh rupee and trophy and runners-up got 75000 rupees and Trophy.

Jaspreet Kaur of Haryana XI was declared the Best Player of the Tournament.

3 months Supplement CA

About Surjit Hockey Society

Surjit Hockey Society came into existence in 1984.

It was instituted to keep the name of Sardar Surjit Singh Randhawa alive, who lost his life in a fatal car accident near Jalandhar on 7 January 1984.

Randhawa was a member of World XI, Asia Stars XI and he participated in number of International events i.e. Olympics, World Cup, Champions Trophy, Asian Games, besides many other International Tournaments.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK