National Skills Qualifications Framework approved by Cabinet Committee on Skill Development

Cabinet Committee on Skill Development approved the National Skills Qualifications Framework (NSQF).

Created On: Dec 20, 2013 14:14 ISTModified On: Dec 31, 2013 14:18 IST

The Cabinet Committee on Skill Development on 19 December 2013 approved the National Skills Qualifications Framework (NSQF). It is a quality assurance framework, which organizes qualifications according to a series of levels of knowledge, skills and aptitude.

NSQF levels can be defined as the learning outcomes that a learner must possess regardless how they have acquired it may be through a formal means of learning or a non-formal or informal learning.

It will help in shifting the emphasis to outcome, which is based learning – both in the general and vocational space. The lack in uniformity in qualifications across institutions leads to a problem in establishment of equivalence of certificates/ diplomas/degrees in different parts of India turn impacts in the employment and mobility to the students. NSQF would help in tackling the challenge.

This often leads to problems in establishing equivalence of certificates/diplomas/degrees in different parts of the country, which in turn impacts the employability and mobility of students. By shifting the focus from inputs to learning outcomes, the NSQF would aim to tackle this challenge.

NSQF will also facilitate Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) that is largely lacking in the present education and training scenario. It would help alignment of Indian qualifications to international qualifications. The NSQF will allow people to move between education, vocational training and work at different stages in lives and help them in credit accumulation and transfer system as per the needs and convenience.

The National Skill Development Agency (NSDA), an autonomous body attached to the Ministry of Finance will anchor and operationalise the framework. NSDA is mandated to coordinate and harmonize skill development efforts of the Government of India and the private sector.

National Skills Qualifications Framework is a nationally integrated education and competency based skill framework which will provide multiple pathways, horizontal as well as vertical, both within vocational education and vocational training and among vocational education, vocational training, general education and technical education, thus linking one level of learning to another higher level. There are 10 levels in the framework, with the entry level being 1, and the highest level being 10. This will enable a person to acquire desired competency levels, transit to the job market and, at an opportune time, return for acquiring additional skills to further upgrade competencies.


If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

7 + 9 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all