Raghubar Das elected as party leader of BJP in Jharkhand

BJP leader, Raghubar Das elected as party leader by BJP Party of Jharkhand.

Created On: Dec 26, 2014 16:00 ISTModified On: Dec 26, 2014 17:47 IST

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader, Raghubar Das was elected as party leader by BJP Party of Jharkhand on 26 December 2014. He will assume the office of Chief Minister on 30 December 2014.

With this, he will became the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand since it was carved out from Bihar on 15 November 2000. All previous Chief Ministers were tribal. They are Babulal Marandi, Arjun Munda, Shibu Soren, Madhu Koda, Hemant Soren.

He will be the tenth Chief Minister of Jharkhand and sixth Chief Minister as a person. He replaced Hemant Soren of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, who was appointed as CM in July 2013.

In the recently concluded elections on 23 December 2014, he won the Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) seat from Jamshedpur (East) constituency by defeating a Congress candidate by more than 70000 vote margin.

On the other hand, BJP- AJSU (All Jharkhand Students Indian Union) alliance secured 42 seats out of 81 seats where BJP alone secured 37 seats.

About Raghubar Das
• At present, he is the National Vice-president of BJP.
• He served as the deputy chief minister in the BJP-led coalition government in Jharkhand from 30 December 2009 to 29 May 2010 where he handled the finance and urban development portfolios.
• He also served as the BJP’s state president for Jharkhand.
• He is a lawyer by qualification and has worked at the Tata Steel industries in Jharkhand.
• He has been getting elected from Jamshedpur (East) Assembly seat successively since 1995.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 5 =