1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Ranil Wickremesinghe sworn in as Prime Minister of Sri Lanka

Aug 21, 2015 14:14 IST

Ranil Wickremesinghe was sworn in as the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka. He was administered the oath of office by President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo.

Wickremesinghe, a lawmaker since 1977, had served the country as its Prime Minister on three occasions. He held the post from 1993-94, 2002-2004 and since January 2015.

Apart from this, immediately after the swearing-in, the General Secretaries of the two main parties in the country, the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) and the United National Party (UNP) signed a Memorandum of Understanding to work together in the parliament and form a National Government.

The ‘historic’ MoU was signed by SLFP’s Acting General Secretary Duminda Dissanayake and UNP General Secretary Kabir Hashim. The SLFP Central Committee on 20 August 2015 agreed to the proposal of Wickremesinghe to join the National Government to be formed by the UNP.

Earlier on 18 August 2015, Wickremesinghe’s United National Party won 106 seats, seven short of a majority in the 225-member parliament. This agreement between the UNP and Sirisena’s SLFP will enable Wickremesighe to secure a majority in Parliament.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes22 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK