Sania Mirza-Martina Hingis won Brisbane Tennis trophy

Jan 11, 2016 08:08 IST

Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis on 9 January 2016 won the WTA Brisbane Tennis trophy. In the final at Brisbane, the top seeded Indo-Swiss pair defeated German Angelique Kerber and Andrea Petkovic 7-5, 6-1.

They also stitched a 26-match winning streak together, which has brought them six titles in a row at the US Open, Guangzhou, Wuhan, Beijing, WTA Finals and now at Brisbane.

It is the longest winning streak since Italians Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci's 25 in a row in 2012. They won five titles in a row, at Barcelona, Madrid, Rome, the French Open and 's-Hertogenbosch.

The last doubles team to win more than 25 consecutive matches was Gigi Fernandez and Natasha Zvereva who had notched up 28 straight victories in 1994.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes14 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK