Union Ministry of Home Affairs designated Agatti and Minicoy Islands as Immigration Check Posts

Jun 24, 2015 14:00 IST

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) on 22 June 2015 designated Agatti and Minicoy islands of Lakshadweep as authorised Immigration Check Posts for entry into or exit from India.

Both the islands will be used as transit points for all classes of passengers with valid travel documents from 30 June 2015.

While Agatti is spread over 3.84 square kms, Minicoy has an area over 4.80 sq kms. Minicoy lies near one of the busiest shipping routes and is about 130 km from the northern-most island of Maldives.

The two new immigration check points will help easy access to tourists, mainly travelling by luxury cruises, to India.

At present, there are 82 Immigration Check Posts all over the country catering to international traffic.

Out of these, 37 are functioning under the Bureau of Immigration, while the remaining is being managed by the state governments concerned.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes6 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK