V Narayanasamy sworn-in as Chief Minister of Puducherry

Jun 6, 2016 15:15 IST

NarayanasamyCongress Legislature Party leader V Narayanasamy was sworn-in as Chief Minister of the Union Territory of Puducherry on 6 June 2016. Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi administered his oath of office and secrecy along with five ministers at Gandhi Thidal in Beach Road.

Five Congress legislators who were also sworn-in as ministers are A Namassivayam, Shah Jahan, Malladi Krishna Rao, M Kandasamy and R Kamalakannan.

V Narayanasamy

• He represented Puducherry in Rajya Sabha for three terms.

• He was elected to Lok Sabha in 2009 and served as Minister of State Parliamentary Affairs in UPA-I.

• In UPA-II, he served as Minister of State in Prime Minister's Office.

• Narayanasamy is not a member of the house hence he will need to face polls in 6 months.

Earlier on 19 May 2016, Congress - DMK alliance has 17 members in the 30 member Territorial Assembly. DMK which has 2 members in the Assembly will be supporting the Government from outside.

Of the four regions of the Union Territory, Mahe alone do not have representation in the Council of Ministers.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: V Narayanasamy , Puducherry CM , Puducherry , Congress , Union Territory , Kiran Bedi

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK