1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

AB De Villiers conferred with South Africa Cricketer of the Year Award for 2015

Jun 5, 2015 12:00 IST

AB De Villiers was on 3 June 2015 conferred with the South Africa (SA) Cricketer of the Year Award for 2015.

The award was presented to him at the 2015 Cricket South Africa Awards presentation ceremony held at Midrand in South Africa.

Having received the annual award for 2014 also, he joined Makhaya Ntini who received the award in successive years- 2005 and 2006.

Till now, only eight players have received the most prestigious award of Cricket South Africa (CSA) including Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011) and Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013) who received the award twice.

AB De Villiers won following awards for 2015

• SA Cricketer of the Year Award
• Castle Lager ODI Cricketer of the Year
• SA Players’ Player of the Year
• SA Fans’ Player of the Year
• KFC ‘So Good’ Award

Thus, he equated the performance of Hashim Amla who won five awards in 2010.

The other major awards went to Hashim Amla as Test Cricketer of the Year, Morne van Wyk as Ticketpro T20 Cricketer of the Year and Dale Steyn won the RAM Delivery of the Year Award.

AB De Villiers is considered as one of the best all-round cricketer and placed at the No. 2 spot in Test match cricket and at No. 1 in ODI cricket rankings.
He now holds the world records for the fastest 50, 100 and 150 in ODI cricket.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK