Andy Murray wins 2016 China Open Men's Singles

World Number two Andy Murray defeated Grigor Dimitrov by 6–4, 7–6 to grab the 2016 China Open Men's Singles title.

Created On: Oct 10, 2016 10:13 ISTModified On: Oct 10, 2016 10:50 IST

Andy Murray on 9 October 2016 won the 2016 China Open Men's Singles title at the National Tennis Center in Beijing, China.

World Number two Murray defeated Grigor Dimitrov by 6–4, 7–6.

October CA eBook

About China Open

The China Open is an annual professional tennis tournament held in Beijing, China.

The men's singles and doubles events were first held in 1993, as the ATP opened a series of new tournaments in Asia.

In 1998, the tournament was dropped from the ATP tour calendar, but was reinstated in 2004.

In 2006, the China Open became the first tournament outside of the United States to use the Hawk-Eye system in match play.

Novak Djokovic is the only player to have won the title six times. He also holds the record for consecutive wins with four titles.

In doubles, the Bryan Brothers are the only doubles pair to have won consecutive titles.

Agnieszka Radwanska, Svetlana Kuznetsova and Serena Williams hold the record for most titles won in the women's tournament, with two titles each.

Novak Djokovic was the winner of the 2015 China Open Men's Singles.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

5 + 6 =