1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Australian cricket team won Women's T20 World Cup 2014

Apr 7, 2014 16:16 IST

Australian women cricket team on 6 April 2014 won the Women’s World Twenty20 Cup 2014 cup defeating England in the final match in Mirpur, Dhaka. It defeated England by six wickets with 29 balls left to be bowled. This was the third successive Women’s World Twenty20 title won by Australian women’s cricket team.

Australia’s captain – Meg Lanning (she was the highest scorer of the tournament with 257 runs)
England’s captain – Charlotte Edwards
Player of the match – SJ Coyte (Australia)
Player of the series – A Shrubsole (England) for taking 12 wickets in the tournament

Group stage
• Group A: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Ireland
• Group B: England, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh

ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 Tournament
The ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 was held from 16 March to 6 April 2014. In overall a total of 62 tournament matches were played (35 men’s and 27 women’s) across Chittagong, Dhaka and Sylhet in the 22-day tournament.

Interesting Fact
Ellyse Alexandra Perry, the Australian all-rounder, is also the football player in Australian football team.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes41 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Australia , England , Women’s World Twenty20 Cup 2014 ,

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK