Jagran Josh Logo
  1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs |  

BJP won in Gujarat State Assembly Elections 2012, Claimed 115 Seats

Dec 21, 2012 12:56 IST

Narendra ModiAs per the election results declared by the Election Commission of India on 20 December 2012, Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) under the leadership of Chief Minister Narendra Modi on 20 December 2012 won the Vidhan Sabha Elections in Gujarat leaving behind the opposition Congress and Gujarat Parivartan Party. BJP was successful in capturing 115 seats out of the 182 member assembly in the state, with this win BJP is back to power in the state for the fifth time and for the third time under the leadership of Narendra Modi.

The 115 seats secured by BJP in the State Elections was two less than the seats that it won in the 2007 state elections, where as Congress was successful in winning 61 seats which marked a growth by 2 seats on its part as compared to the 2007 results. The newly formed political party of Keshubhai Patel, the Gujarat Parivartan Party (GPP) was successful in winning 3 seats.

BJP was successful in winning 35 seats out of 54 seats in the Saurastra-Kutch region where it secured 38 votes in the 2007 elections. In Southern Gujarat the party won 28 seats out of 25 and 20 out of 40 in the central Gujarat region. Narendra Modi was successful in beating her closet rival Seweta Bhatt by a margin of 86000 votes in Maninagar and is the wife of the suspended IPS officer Sanjiv Bhatt. Sanjeev Bhatt was suspended for accusing Narendra Modi for orchestrating the 2002 Gujarat Riots as a Chief Minister of the state.

Total Seats: 182


Seats won in 2012

Seats in 2007


Vote Percent in 2012

Bhartiya Janta Party





Indian National Congress





Nationalist Congress Party











Janata Dal United




The Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath announced the dates of election in Gujarat on 3 October 2012 marking 13 December 2012 as the first phase of election and 17 December 2012 as the second phase of the same. The Counting of the votes were done on 20 December 2012. Out of 182 constituencies of Gujarat 13 were reserved for SCs and 26 for STs.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Bhartiya Janta Party , Gujarat Election , Narendra Modi
Post Comment

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Newsletter Signup
Follow us on