Delhi elections 2020 dates: Polling on February 8, results to be declared on February 11

Delhi assembly election polling date is February 8 and results will be declared on February 11. 

Created On: Jan 6, 2020 16:02 ISTModified On: Jan 6, 2020 16:14 IST
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

Delhi elections 2020 dates: The Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 will be conducted in a single phase on February 8, 2020. The counting of votes will take place on February 11. 

The five-year term of the 6th legislative assembly of Delhi is scheduled to expire on February 22, 2020. The Model Code of Conduct shall be implemented in Delhi with immediate effect. 

Delhi Elections 2020: Important Dates

Delhi Election Date: February 8

Delhi Result Date: February 11

Delhi Assembly Elections: Key Announcements

The Delhi legislative assembly has a total of  70 seats. The total number of electors in Delhi include 1,46,92,136.

There are 13760 polling stations in Delhi. Many polling stations are housed in one campus due to local issues such as non-availability of space. 

All polling stations in Delhi have assured minimum facilities. All are located on the ground floor. 

About 9000 election officials will be deployed to conduct the elections in a fair manner. Adequate security will also be provided outside all polling stations. 

Ironically, voter turnout in Maoist-affected areas is far more than some of the most polling booths in Delhi. 

New concept of absentee voters has been introduced, under which voters who are not able to come to the polling stations will be able to take part in the polls. 

Senior citizens and persons with disabilities have the option of either voting in person or sending their votes through postal ballot. 

Delhi Election Schedule: All Important Dates

Notification Date

January 14

Last Date for filing of nomination

January 21

Scrutiny of nominations

January 22

Last date for withdrawal of nominations

January 24

Polling Date

February 8

Date of counting of votes- Final Result

February 11

Date before which election should be completed

February 12


The Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil Arora announced the Delhi Assembly poll schedule on January 6, 2020 in a live press conference.  

The Delhi Assembly term is scheduled to end on February 22 and a new government has to be formed prior to the date. The Delhi Assembly comprises 70 constituencies. 

The Delhi Assembly Elections 2015 were won by the Aam Aadmi Party, which had won 67 out of the total 70 seats. The BJP had won just three seats, while the Congress won none. 

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 3 =