Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay elected as non-permanent members of UNSC

Oct 19, 2015 12:04 IST

United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) on 15 October 2015 elected Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay to serve as non-permanent members on the UN Security Council (UNSC).

These members will serve the UNSC for two-year terms beginning on 1 January 2016 until 31 December 2017.

Egypt and Senegal will replace Chad and Nigeria from Africa Group, Japan will replace Jordan to represent Asia-Pacific Group, Uruguay will replace Chile to represent Latin America and Caribbean States Group and Ukraine will replace Lithuania to represent Eastern European Group.

The Western European and Others Group did not contest for any seats in 2015, as its two seats (currently held by New Zealand and Spain) are up for election every even calendar year.

New Composition of UNSC

With the new non-permanent members now the composition of UNSC stands as follows:

Five permanent Council members: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States with each wielding veto power

Non-permanent members until end of 2016: Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela

Non-permanent members until end of 2017: Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay

Under the UN Charter, the UNSC has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. Each of the Council’s members has one vote. Under the Charter, all UN Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes20 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK