Election Commission of India announced election dates for Bihar Assembly polls

The election to be held in 5 phases will start from 12 October 2015 and counting will start from 8 November 2015.

Created On: Sep 10, 2015 08:21 ISTModified On: Sep 10, 2015 09:20 IST

Election Commission of India (ECI) on 9 September 2015 announced the election dates for Bihar Assembly polls. The election to be held in 5 phases between 12 October and 5 November 2015 and counting will take place on 8 November 2015.

Election dates


Elections Dates

Assembly Constituencies

1st Phase

12 October 2015


2nd Phase

16 October 2015


3rd Phase

28 October 2015


4th Phase

1 November 2015


5th Phase

5 November 2015


The elections will be held as the five year term of the current Assembly is due to expire on 29 November 2015.

With this announcement of the dates, the Model Code of Conduct has come into force with immediate effect. The elections will see deployment of central paramilitary forces at all polling booths to oversee the effective management of the electoral process at the field level mainly in respect of voter awareness and facilitation.

Bihar has a total of 243 assembly seats, of which 38 are reserved for Scheduled Castes and 2 for Scheduled Tribes. 47 constituencies are affected by Left Wing Extremism. A total of 62779 polling stations will be set up for 6.68 crore electorates.

Besides, this is the first time when the EVMs will be carrying photos of the candidates in any general election to prevent the namesake problem.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

5 + 0 =