Fukuoka to host 2021 World Aquatics Championships

The capital of Qatar, Doha, will host the 2023 Swimming World Championships.

Created On: Feb 1, 2016 12:17 ISTModified On: Feb 1, 2016 16:24 IST

International Swimming FederationThe International Swimming Federation (FINA) on 31 January 2016 announced that the Japanese city of Fukuoka will host the 2021 World Aquatics Championships.

On the other hand, the Qatari capital Doha will host the 2023 event.

The decision was made after a vote of the FINA executive committee in Budapest.

About World Aquatics Championships

The FINA World Championships or World Aquatics Championships are the World Championships for aquatics sports: Swimming, Diving, High Diving, Open Water Swimming, Synchronized Swimming and Water Polo.

They are run by FINA, and all Swimming events are contested in a long course (50-meter) pool.

The event was first held in 1973 and is now held every two years.

From 1978-1998, the World Championships were held every four years, in the even years between Summer Olympic years.

From 2001 on, the Championships have been held every two years, in the odd years.

The event was held in the Russian city of Kazan in 2015 and will go to Budapest in 2017 and Gwangju in South Korea in 2019.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 3 =