Hassan Rouhani sworn in as the new President of Iran

Hassan Rohani took oath to the office of the Iran’s President on 4 August 2013. He succeeded Mahmoud Ahmadinejad as the President.

Created On: Aug 5, 2013 17:33 ISTModified On: Aug 5, 2013 17:39 IST

Hassan Rouhani on 4 August 2013 took oath as the new President of Iran in the ceremony held at the Iranian Parliament in Tehran. The 64 year old Rouhani, kissed the Quran and took his oath to the office before the countries senior politicians, foreign dignitaries and MPs. The newly elected, Iranian President began his four-year mandate to the office from 3 August 2013 after Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, Iran’s Supreme leader certified his victory in the Presidential election that was conducted on 15 June 2013.

Rouhani is the seventh (different) President of Iran after the Islamic Revolution of 1979. He secured a little over 50 percent votes to win the election and has succeeded Mahmoud Ahmadinejad as the President.
Earlier, he defeated Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf of Islamic Society of Engineers party. The Presidential elections in Iran took place on 14 June 2013.

Vice-President of India, Hamid Ansari attended the swering-in ceremony of Rouhani at Tehran.

About Hassan Rohani

• Hassan Rohani was born on 12 November 1948 and started his political activities during beginning of Iranian Islamic movement by following Ayatollah Khomeini.
• Since 1999, he remained a member of Assembly of Experts also known as Council of Experts. It is the deliberative body of Islamic theologians, also called Mujtahids. The Assembly of Experts is the body that has charge of electing as well as removing Supreme Leader of Iran as well as supervising his activities.
• He also remained a member of Expediency Council since 1991. Expediency Council or Expediency Discernment Council of the System is the administrative assembly which is appointed by Supreme Leader of Iran. Originally, Expediency Council was established to resolve differences between Council of Guardians and the Majlis.
• Apart from this, he was the member of the Supreme National Security Council since 1989.
• In the book titled, National Security and Nuclear Diplomacy, there is an autobiography of Hassan Rohani which describes about his experience as in-charge of Iran's nuclear case as well as secretary of the Supreme National Security Council.
• Hassan Rohani has remained the deputy speaker of the 4th and 5th terms of the Islamic Consultative Assembly (Majlis) and secretary of the Supreme National Security Council from 1989 to 2005.
• He was the head of the Center for Strategic Research since 1992.
• He was the head of former nuclear negotiating team of Iran and was among the top negotiators of Iran with the three nations of European Union namely, Germany, UK and France, on the nuclear program of Iran.
Important facts about the Election of President of Iran, according to the Constitution of Iran

• According to Article 117 of the Constitution of Iran, the President is elected by an absolute majority of votes polled by the voters.
• According to Article 115 of the Constitution of Iran, the President must be elected from among religious and political personalities.
• According to Article 114 of the Constitution of Iran, the President is elected for a four-year term by the direct vote of the people. His re-election for a successive term is permissible only once.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

2 + 3 =