1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Ibrahim Boubacar Keita won Mali Presidential Elections

Aug 13, 2013 16:07 IST

Ibrahim Boubacar KeitaIbrahim Boubacar Keita won Mali's Presidential elections on 12 August 2013 after his opponent Soumalia Cisse conceded defeat before official results were announced. Soumalia Cisse's concession allows Mali to avoid a protracted election fight and to move ahead with establishing a democratically elected government, one of the international community's caveats for unlocking some 4 billion US dollars in promised aid.

Keita had been expected to win easily, having pulled nearly 40 percent of the vote in the first round. Most of the other candidates from the first round also had given their endorsements to Keita, who is a former Prime Minister.

However, earlier some of Cisse's supporters had raised allegations of ballot stuffing against Keita's party, raising the specter of a legal battle. Not long after Cisse's concession became known, the former finance minister tweeted about his decision to concede.

Ibrahim Boubacar Keita is a Malian politician and the country's president-elect. He was Prime Minister of Mali from 1994 to 2000 and President of the National Assembly of Mali from 2002 to 2007. He founded a political party, Rally for Mali (RPM), in 2001 and he has led the party since then. In addition to serving in the National Assembly, Keita was a member of the Parliament of the Economic Community of West African States.
Ibrahim Boubacar Keita is popularly known as IBK.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes52 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Mali , Presidential elections , Ibrahim Boubacar Keita

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK