1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

ICC approved introduction of International Women’s Championship

Jan 30, 2014 09:09 IST

International Cricket Council (ICC) on 29 January 2014 approved the introduction of an International Women’s Championship, which is a part of qualification for the ICC Women's World Cup. As per the approval, each of the top eight ranked international teams will play the others in a series of matches between mid-2017 and the end of 2016. The top teams will automatically qualify for the ICC Women World Cup of 2017 to be played in England.

The team that falls in the bottom sides will fall into the regional qualification structures of ICC to play in a Women’s World Cup qualifier. This qualifier will decide the final list of participants at the Women’s World Cup Cricket Championship.

Competing countries include
• Australia
• West Indies
• England
• New Zealand
• Sri Lanka
• South Africa
• India
• Pakistan

David Richardson, the Chief Executive of ICC in his conference in Dubai said the approval a very positive step for the profile and competitiveness of women’s cricket. This move would also guarantee a more regular ODI cricket for a broader group of nations than ever before.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes38 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK