Imomali Rakhmon Reelected as the President of Tajikistan

Imomali Rakhmon was re-elected as the President of Tajikistan.

Created On: Nov 7, 2013 15:20 IST

Central Election Commission (CEC) of Tajikistan on 6 November 2013 declared that Imomali Rakhmon was re-elected as the President of Tajikistan.

Imomali Rakhmon belongs to People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT).

The President of Tajikistan is elected by popular vote. The term of the office is 7 years.

The term of the President of Tajikistan is limited to not more than two terms. However, a constitutional amendment passed in 2003 allows President Imomali Rakhmon to run for a third term which, if he prevails, would keep him in office until 2020.

About Imomali Rakhmon

• Imomali Rakhmon was born as Imomali Sharipovich Rahmanov to a peasant family in Kulob, Kulob Oblast (present-day Khatlon province) in Tajikistan.
• He was served in the Soviet Armed Forces from 1971-74.
• He has served as Tajikistan's head of state since 1992 and as President since 1994.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

2 + 1 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all