India’s New Jersey: Team India reveals new test jersey; Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma pose in new jersey kit

India’s New Jersey: Virat Kohli was spotted posing in Team India’s new jersey with his name and number etched on the back.   

Created On: Aug 22, 2019 10:07 ISTModified On: Aug 22, 2019 10:08 IST
Virat Kohli

India’s New Jersey: Team India has revealed its new test jersey kit, ahead of World Test Championship, which will begin with India’s first test against West Indies campaign at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua. Team India posted Instagram stories of the entire team including skipper Virat Kohli and Vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane sporting the new test jersey with their name and preferred number written behind.

Virat Kohli was seen wearing number 18 at the back, while Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane was seen sporting number 3 jersey.  The decision to introduce numbers at the back of the test jersey was taken by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to make test cricket more appealing to the youth. The change will apply to all test playing nations. England and Australia have already unveiled their respective new test jersey kits, as the World Test Championship kicked off with the Ashes series.


India’s Test Squad


Player Name

Jersey Number

Virat Kohli


Ajinkya Rahane


Mayank Agarwal


KL Rahul


Cheteshwar Pujara


Hanuma Vihari


Rohit Sharma


Rishabh Pant


Wriddhiman Saha


R Ashwin


Ravindra Jadeja


Kuldeep Yadav


Ishant Sharma


Mohammed Shami


Jasprit Bumrah



India defeated the West Indies by 3-0 in the T20Is and by 2-0 in the ODI series. The two teams will now face each other in the two-testt series, which will also mark the beginning of their campaign in the World Test Championship. India’s second test against the West Indies will be played at the Sabina Park in Jamaica

The introduction of the new test jerseys, as a part of the new ICC rule, has received firm criticism from many former players including Kevin Pietersen, Brett Lee and Shoaib Akhtar.

The first edition of the World Test Championship will see participation from 9 test playing nations including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, Bangladesh, New Zealand, West Indies and South Africa.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप