Jordan elected to UNSC as a non-permanent member

Dec 8, 2013 09:09 IST

Jordan on 7 December 2013 was elected as a non-permanent member of United Nation Security Council (UNSC). The election of Jordan has filled the seat that was vacant after Saudi Arabia declined to accept the membership in protest of the failure of UNSC to end the Syrian and Israeli-Palestinian conflicts.

Jordan will serve the council from January 2014 for a period of two years. In the election Jordan got 178 votes in the 193 member General Assembly. Jordan has earlier held the seat twice, since joining the world body in 1955.

About United Nation Security Council (UNSC)

Under the UN Charter, the Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has 15 Members and each Member has one vote. Under the Charter, all Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

The Security Council takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression. It calls upon the parties to a dispute to settle it by peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of settlement. In some cases, the Security Council can resort to impose sanctions or even authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security.

The Security Council also recommends to the General Assembly the appointment of the Secretary-General and the admission of new Members to the United Nations. It elects the judges of the International Court of Justice together with the General Assembly.

The Security Council held its first session on 17 January 1946 at Church House, Westminster, London. Since its first meeting, the Security Council has taken permanent residence at the United Nations Headquarters in New York City.

The Council is composed of 15 Members of which 5 are the permanent member and 10 are non-permanent members. The non-permanents are elected for two year terms by the General Assembly (with end of term date).

The five permanent members are China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Quick Digest

Who: Jordan

What: non-permanent member of UNSC

When: 7 December 2013

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK