Justice R M Lodha sworn in as 41st Chief Justice of India

Justice Rajendra Mal Lodha sworn-in as the 41st Chief Justice of India. His swearing-in ceremony was administered by the President of India.

Created On: Apr 28, 2014 13:13 ISTModified On: Apr 28, 2014 18:38 IST

Justice Rajendra Mal Lodha on 27 April 2014 was sworn-in as the 41st Chief Justice of India. The oath was administered by the President of India, Pranab Mukherjee. Justice Lodha will have a brief tenure of five months as the Chief Justice as he will retire on 27 September 2014.

The 64-year-old Justice Lodha took over the office from Justice P. Sathasivam, who retired from his office on 26 April 2014 after serving tenure of nine months. Justice P Sathasivam assumed the office of Chief Justice of India in July 2013.

Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania was the first Chief Justice of India.

Some important judgments and orders given by SC bench under Justice R M Lodha
• Justice Lodha is the head of the bench that is monitoring CBI’s probe into coal blocks allocation scam
• His bench ordered that there is no requirement to share information with the political executive on coalgate probe by CBI. This decision in May 2013 led to the resignation of the then Law Minister, Ashwani Kumar
• SC bench under him passed orders for making CBI free from any political interference. The bench said that sanctions from the government is not required to prosecute senior officials in cases which are being monitored by the Courts
• He is a part of the Constitutional Bench that is looking towards the mode of education of minority schools
• A bench headed by Justice Lodha allowed defence personnel in peace stations to vote in constituencies of their posting by terming it compulsion of their job must not come in the way of their basic right

Form of Oath or Affirmation

Article 124 (6) of the Constitution of India provides for administering of oath or affirmation of the Chief Justice of India or any other Supreme Court judge before the President of India or some other person appointed in that behalf by him.

The Schedule Three of the Indian Constitution provides for the Form of Oath or Affirmations for Union Ministers [Art. 75(4)], Candidate for election to Parliament[Art. 80(a)], Member of Parliament [Art. 99], Chief Justice of India & Supreme Court Judges [Art. 124(6)], Comptroller & Auditor General of India [Art. 148(2)], State Ministers[Art. 164(3)], Candidates for election to Legislative Assembly[Art. 173(a)], Member of Legislative Assembly[Art. 188], and Chief Justice of High Courts & Judges of High Courts [Art. 219]

Constitutional provision for appointment of  Chief Justice of India

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

8 + 5 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all