Mark Selby won World Snooker Championship

May 4, 2016 11:11 IST

Mark SelbyEngland's world number one Mark Selby on 2 May 2016 won World Championship title of Snooker. In the final match played in Sheffield, Selby from Leicester defeated China’s Ding Junhui 18-14.

With this win, Selby also ended Ding’s chance of being the first Asian player to win the world title.

This was Selby’s second trophy of the year, earlier he had won minor Gdynia Open event in Poland.

This was Selby’s second World Snooker title, the first was won against Ronnie O'Sullivan in 2014. This win also added his name in the list of Steve Davis, Hendry, John Higgins, Mark Williams and Ronnie O’Sullivan, the stars who have won at least two world titles since the event rocked up in Sheffield in 1977.

Titles of Selby

• 2008: Beats Ronnie O'Sullivan 9-8 to win Welsh Open

• 2011: Beats Mark Williams 10-9 in Shanghai Masters final

• 2012: Wins UK Championship with 10-6 win over Shaun Murphy

• 2014: Wins World Championship 18-14 against Ronnie O'Sullivan

• 2015: Wins German Masters and China Open

• 2016: Clinches second World Championship

• He also won the Masters, an invitation event, in 2008, 2010 and 2013

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Quick Digest

Who: Mark Selby

Where: Sheffield

What: Won World Snooker Championship

When: 3 May 2016

Is this article important for exams ? Yes8 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK