1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Mohun Bagan won I-League title of football after 13 years

Jun 1, 2015 12:16 IST

Kolkata giants Mohun Bagan on 31 May 2015 won their maiden I-League title in 13 years. In the final clash at Kanteerva Stadium in Bengaluru, Mohun Bagan managed a 1-1 draw against the defending champions Bengaluru FC.

Mohun Bagan ended the season with 39 points, while Bengaluru finish second on the ladder with 37 points.

This win is the fourth I-league title for Mohun Bagan. It won the first I-league title in 2002 when the tournament was called as the National Football League (NFL). Later in 2007, NFL was renamed as I-League.

The most interesting fact of this win of Bagan after 13-years is that in both the wins, that is, in 2002 and 2015 the winning goal was scored by a Nigerian player. Abdul Saliu of Nigeria scored the winning goal for Bagan in the 2001-02 National Football League title, and in 2015 Rasaq of Nigeria scored the much-needed goal.

The title also ended Bagan’s five-year trophy drought.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: I-League title , Mohun Bagan , Bengaluru FC , Kanteerva Stadium

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK