Roger Federer beats Rafael Nadal to win 18th Grand Slam title

The 35-year-old Swiss defeated Rafael Nadal 6-4 3-6 6-1 3-6 6-3 to claim his 18th Grand Slam and fifth Melbourne title.

Jan 30, 2017 11:00 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Roger Federer on 29 January 2017 won the 2017 Australian Open Men’s Singles title.

The 35-year-old Swiss defeated Rafael Nadal 6-4 3-6 6-1 3-6 6-3 to claim his 18th Grand Slam and fifth Melbourne title.


Roger Federer

About Roger Federer

Roger Federer is a Swiss professional tennis player.

He is currently ranked world No. 10 by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP). He has held the No. 1 spot in the ATP rankings for 302 weeks.

He turned professional in 1998.

He has won 18 Grand Slam singles titles, which is the most in history.

He has won five Australian Open titles, seven Wimbledon titles, five US Open titles and one French Open title.

He has won record six ATP World Tour Finals and played in the finals at all nine ATP Masters 1000 tournaments.

He also won the Olympic gold medal in doubles with his compatriot Stan Wawrinka at the 2008 Summer Olympic Games.

At the 2012 Summer Olympic Games, he won silver medal in singles.

Top 300 CA eBook

About Rafael Nadal

Rafael Nadal is a Spanish professional tennis player.

He has won 14 Grand Slam singles titles, the 2008 Olympic gold medal in singles, 28 titles in ATP World Tour Masters 1000 events, and 17 ATP World Tour 500 tournaments.

He was the first male to win at least one Grand Slam tournament for ten consecutive years. With that, he broke the record of eight consecutive years previously shared by Bjorn Borg, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer.

About Australian Open

The Australian Open is a major tennis tournament.

It is held annually over the last fortnight of January in Melbourne, Australia.

The tournament was first held in 1905.

Chronologically, it is the first of the four Grand Slam tennis events of the year. The other three are the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.

The 2016 Australian Open Men’s Singles title was won by Novak Djokovic.

The 2017 Women's Singles title is won by Serena Williams.

The 2017 Men's Doubles title is won by Henri Kontinen and John Peers.

The 2017 Women's Doubles title is won by Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Lucie Safarova.

The 2017 Mixed Doubles title is won by Abigail Spears and Juan Sebastian Cabal.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए