Ronnie O'Sullivan defeated Neil Robertson to win 2016 Welsh Open

Feb 22, 2016 10:13 IST

Ronnie O'SullivanRonnie O'Sullivan on 21 February 2016 won seven frames in a row to beat Neil Robertson 9-5 and win 2016 BetVictor Welsh Open title held at the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff, Wales.

O'Sullivan met Robertson in the final. Despite trailing 3–5 after the afternoon session, O'Sullivan won all six frames played in the evening session to defeat Robertson 9–5 and equal John Higgins' record of four Welsh Open titles.

It was O'Sullivan's 28th ranking title, which put him in joint second place with Higgins and Steve Davis for the number of career ranking titles.

About Ronnie O'Sullivan

Ronald Antonio O'Sullivan is an English professional snooker player.

He is one of the most successful players in the sport's modern era.

He is regarded by many commentators as the most naturally gifted player in snooker history, and is frequently described as a genius.

He is also noted for his mercurial temperament and for his ambivalent relationship with the sport, from which he has repeatedly threatened to retire.

He made his first century break at the age of 10.

His first maximum break came at age 15.

He turned professional in 1992 and soon earned the nickname The Rocket because of his rapid playing style.

He achieved his first major professional success when he won the 1993 UK Championship at the age of 17 years and 358 days, making him the youngest player ever to win a ranking title.

He is also the youngest player to have won the Masters.

He holds the record for the most competitive century breaks, with 807.

He also holds the record for the most ratified maximum breaks in professional competition and for the three fastest competitive maximum breaks, the quickest in 5 minutes and 20 seconds.

About Welsh Open

The Welsh Open is a professional ranking snooker tournament.

It replaced the Welsh Professional Championship, which started in 1980 and was only open to Welsh players.

Since the tournament's creation in 1992, Mark Williams has been the only Welsh player to win the championship (in 1996 and 1999).

John Higgins and Ronnie O'Sullivan hold the record for the most wins, with four Welsh Open titles each.

John Higgins was the winner of 2015 Welsh Open.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Quick Digest

Who: Ronnie O'Sullivan

Where: Cardiff , Wales

What: Won 2016 Welsh Open

When: 21 February 2016

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Welsh Open , Snooker , John Higgins , Ronnie O'Sullivan , Neil Robertson

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK