Sheikh Hasina sworn-in as Bangladesh Prime Minister

Jan 13, 2014 18:09 IST

Sheikh HasinaSheikh Hasina along with her Cabinet of 49 Ministers was sworn-in before President Abdul Hamid at the Bangabhaban (the President’s House) on 12 January 2014. Sheikh Hasina was sworn-in as the Prime Minister of Bangladesh for the third time.

image The new Cabinet has 29 Ministers, 17 State Ministers, and two Deputy Ministers.

She had won an overwhelming majority in the Bangladesh general election held in January 2014 by defeating opposition party, Jatiya party.

The Awami League has secured absolute majority in the 10th Parliament elections by bagging 232 seats – 105 contested and 127 uncontested.

The Jatiya Party was declared as the second largest party in the parliament bagging 33 seats – 13 contested and 20 uncontested.

While the majorities in the new Cabinet are from Awami League, the rest are from Jatiya Party, Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal, and Jatiya Party (Manju).


If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes41 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Sheikh Hasina , Bangladesh Prime Minister , Awami League

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK