Surat to receive ‘City Award’ under India Smart Cities Award 2018

Jun 21, 2018 13:45 IST
Surat to receive ‘City Award’ under India Smart Cities Award 2018

Surat smart city has been selected for ‘City Award’ for showing great momentum in the implementation of projects under ‘India Smart Cities Award’ 2018.

Overall, nine awards have been announced under the India Smart Cities Awards. The awards are divided into three categories:

1. City Award

The city award will be conferred to Surat for showing great momentum in the implementation of projects especially in the categories of urban environment, transport and mobility and sustainable integrated development.

2. Innovative Idea Award

The Innovative idea award is conferred to a project or an idea that is particularly remarkable for its innovative, bottom-up and transformative approach towards the achievement of sustainable integrated development.

The joint winners in the category include Bhopal for its Integrated Command and Control Centre (ICCC) and Ahmedabad for its Safe and Secure Ahmedabad (SASA) Project.

3. Project Award

The award is given to most innovative and successful projects in seven categories that have been completed by April 1, 2018.

 Surat to receive ‘City Award’ under India Smart Cities Award 2018

The selected projects include:


Project Name



PMC Care from Pune


Built Environment

Smart Place Making from Pune


Social Aspects

Smart Class rooms from NDMC and Jabalpur, Smart Campus from Visakhapatnam, Lighthouse from Pune


Culture and Economy

B Nest Incubation Centre from Bhopal, Conservation of Rajasthan School of Arts from Jaipur


Urban Environment

Public Bike Sharing from Bhopal, Pune, Coimbatore and Waste to Energy Plant in Jabalpur


Transport and Mobility

 Integrated Transit Management System (TMS) from Ahmedabad and Surat


Water and Sanitation

Smart Water Management through SCADA from Ahmedabad

About India Smart Cities Award

The awards were launched on June 25, 2017 with an aim to reward cities, projects and innovative ideas, promoting sustainable development in cities.

Only smart cities are eligible for the awards.

The results were declared after a technical committee comprising international/multilateral experts from UN Habitat, Asian Development Bank and NIUA evaluated the submissions based on innovation, impact, replicability and scalability.

The city award was decided on the basis of the cities' performance on their awards score and on weekly ranking score as on May 2, 2018, which was the award application submission deadline.


Read More Current Affairs

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK