Union Ministry for Food Processing Industries reconstituted NFDPC

Nov 20, 2014 15:20 IST

Union Ministry for Food Processing Industries on 18 November 2014 reconstituted the National Food Processing Development Council (NFDPC).

The Ministry appointed ITC Chairman Y Deveshwar and FieldFresh Foods Vice Chairman Rakesh Bharti Mittal as its members.

For the first time, the committee has appointed individual business leaders as its members. Earlier, the industry was represented in this committee by the industry bodies.

The committee comprised of 29 members. Food Processing Minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal is the Chairman of the council and Minister of State Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti is its Vice Chairperson.

The committee also comprises of Food Processing Minister from Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Punjab and Tamil Nadu. Secretaries in the Food Processing Ministry, Agriculture Ministry, Department of Agricultural Research and Education and Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region are also its members.

The NFDPC is the governing body for implementation of National Food Processing Mission (NFPM). The committee aims to promote facilities for post-harvest operations including setting up of food processing industries and augmenting farm gate infrastructure, supply chain logistics, storage and processing capacity.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes17 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK