UP Government renames Gorakhpur and Agra Airports

Apr 19, 2017 17:06 IST

In the third meeting of the Uttar Pradesh cabinet, the state government renamed the Gorakhpur and Agra Airports as well as the name of the Department of Welfare of the Differently-abled.

CA eBook

The Gorakhpur Airforce Station was renamed after the name of Mahayogi Gorakhnath, the founder of Nath monastic movement. Interestingly, the newly-appointed Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath is the Head Priest of the Gorakhnath Mutt, which is a leading centre of the Nath monastic order.

Likewise, the Agra Airport was renamed after RSS ideologue Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay airport.

On the other hand, the Department of Disabled Welfare will now be known as Divyang Jan Vikas Empowerment. Divyang is a term used for the differently-abled.

During the meeting, the cabinet also approved the decision to open 20 new agricultural centres.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK