1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

Uttrakhand Assembly passed new Lokayaukata Bill

Jan 22, 2014 09:34 IST

The new Uttarakhand Lokayukta Bill 2014 was passed by the Uttarakhand Assembly on 21 January 2014 despite of protest from the opposition. The Bill has replaced the Uttarakhand Lokayukta Act that was passed by the previous BJP government headed by the former Chief Minister BC Khanduri.

Uttarakhand Lokayukta Bill 2014 was passed by the Assembly of the state during the special session amid walkout by opposition BJP legislators that was criticised as weak and full of loopholes. The Bill is in line with the Lokpal and Lokayuktas Act that has been passed by the Parliament.

The new Lokayukta Bill states about the creation of Lokayukta in the state headed by a practicing or retired judge or Chief Justice of the High Court. A five-member selection committee headed by the Chief Minister will appoint the head of the Lokayukta and also its members. Apart from the head, four other members will be available on the panel, of which 50 percent will be from the judiciary. No member of a legislature of any other state or Union territory will be a member of the Lokayukta body.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes30 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK