History of Formation of Rajasthan

19-AUG-2013 15:56

    The record of human settlement in Rajasthan state dates back to around 5000 years ago with sections of Rajasthan at the spirit of the Indus Valley Civilization. This area was earlier known as Gurjaratra, the area protected and ruled by the Gurjars. Later the name changed to Rajputana.


    Integration of Rajasthan (History of Rajasthan)

    Rajasthan is one of the 28 states of the Indian Union.During the British rule this part of the land was known as RAJPUTANA i.e. the land of Rajputs, who were the main rulers of the various feudal states existing at that time. Rajasthan was formed as State from the seven stages which is  discussed given below:

    1. Matsya Union

    The division of India was manifested by communal agitation on a great scale that overwhelmed the nation. Bharatpur and Alwar were also not secured of these riots. In March 17, 1948, Indian Government took over the supervision of these states as the rulers failed to uphold peace. Neighboring regions to these states were Karauli and Dholpur. On Government advice, all four states agreed to come together to form the Matsya Union.

    2. Rajasthan Union

    On March 25, 1948, ten more states namely Kushalgarh, Banswara, Kota, Bundi, Jhalawar, Tonk, Shahpura, Pratapgarh, Dungarpur and Kishangarh of southern and South-eastern Rajputana joined together to structure another union that is named East Rajasthan.

    3. United State of Rajasthan

    Subsequently, the Udaipur state (Mewar) also got united in Rajasthan union on April 18, 1948. The name was then changed to United Rajasthan. Therefore 15 states of Rajasthan created their own association.

    4. Greater Rajasthan

    On March 30, 1949 the four states viz. Jodhpur, Jaipur, Bikaner and Jaisalmer joined this integration and the region came to be known as the Greater Rajasthan. The principalities of Neemra and Lawa also joined this.  March 30th is now celebrated as the Rajasthan day.

    5. United state of Greater Rajasthan

    On May 15, 1949, the Matsya Union was amalgamated into Greater Rajasthan and thereafter the confederation was named as the United state of Greater Rajasthan.

    6. United Rajasthan

    The only state, Sirohi, had not joined the federation so far. Sirohi state joined the federation on January 26, 1950.

    7. Re-organized Rajasthan

    Ajmer-Merwara region was for long period of time under unswerving British rule and it was fused with Rajasthan in November, 1956 on the proposal of the statement of State Reorganization Commission. Madhya Pradesh’s Bhanpura tehsil and Gujarat’s Abu Tehsil were also merged with Rajasthan at that time.

    List of the Seven Stages of formation of Rajasthan  (1948-1956)




    Important persons

    Matsya Union

    March 17, 1948

    Karauli, Alwar, Dholpur, Bharatpur

    The Cabinet of this Union was formed under the Leadership of Shri Shobha Ram.

    Rajasthan Union

    March 25, 1948

    Banswara, Bundi, Dungerpur, Jhalawar, Pratapgarh, Kota, Tonk, Shahpura, Kishangarh

    The Kota Naresh (Bhim Singh II) was appointed as the Rajpramukh and Shri Gokul Lal Asawa was appointed as the Chief Minister.

    United State of Rajasthan

    April 18, 1948

    Udaipur joined with other Union of Rajasthan.

    Sir Bhopal Singh, the former Maharana of Udaipur was appointed as Rajpramukh and the Kota Naresh (Bhim Singh II) was appointed as Up- Rajpramukh of this Union and the Cabinet was formed Under the leadership of Shri Manikya Lal Verma.

    Greater Rajasthan

    March 30, 1949

    Bikaner, Jodhpur, Jaisalmer, Jaipur joined the United State of Rajasthan.

    Formally inaugurated on 30 March, 1949 by Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel.

    United State of Greater Rajasthan

    May 15, 1949

    Matsya Union merged in Greater Rajasthan

    The Maharana Bhopal Singh of Udaipur was appointed as the Maha-Rajpramukh and the Kota Naresh (Bhim Singh II) was appointed as the Up- Rajpramukh and the Cabinet was formed under the leadership of Shri Hira Lala Shastri.

    United Rajasthan

    January 26, 1950

    18 States merged with Princely State Sirohi excluding Delwara and Abu.

    Shri Hira Lal Shastri submitted his resignation from the Chief Ministership and the interim government was formed on 26 April, 1951.

    Re-organised Rajasthan

    November 01, 1956

    Under State Re-organisation Act 1956 the former part ‘C’ State of Ajmer, Abu Road, Taluka, the former part of princely State, Sirohi which was amalgamated in former Bombay and Sunel Tappa area of the former Madhya Bharat fused with Rajasthan. The Sironj subdistrict, Jhalawar was relocated to Madhya Pradesh.

    By 1956, the system of voluntary unions of states was dismantled and the position of Rajpramukh abolished.

    Modern Rajasthan includes most of Rajputana, which comprises the erstwhile nineteen princely states, two chiefships, and the British district of Ajmer-Merwara.Marwar (Jodhpur), Bikaner, Mewar (Chittorgarh), Alwar and Dhundhar (Jaipur) were some of the main Rajput princely states. Bharatpur and Dholpur were Jat princely states whereas Tonk was a princely state under a Muslim Nawab. In the above article of the " History of Formation of Rajasthan" will gives brief outline of the Rajsthan history will help the aspirants to enhance their general knowledge in the preparation of State PSC examination.


    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK