62nd Filmfare awards presented in Mumbai

In critics award category, Sonam Kapoor won the Critics' Award as Best Actor (Female) for her performance in Neerja.

Jan 16, 2017 12:00 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

62nd_Filmfare_Awards The 62nd Filmfare awards were presented on 14 January 2017 at the NSCI Dome, Mumbai. The award is annually presented by Filmfare magazine to honour the best Indian films.

Aamir Khan’s Dangal swept away three of the four major awards, namely Best Film, Best Actor and Best Director.  The year’s award ceremony was co-hosted by Shahrukh Khan, Karan Johar and Kapil Sharma.

Shatrughan Sinha bagged the 2016 Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award.

62nd Filmfare awards winners

Best Film: Dangal

Best Director: Nitesh Tiwari for film Dangal

Best Actor: Aamir Khan for film Dangal. He played the role of Mahavir Singh Phogat in the film.

Best Actress: Alia Bhatt for film Udta Punjab. She played the role of Bauria in the film.

Best Supporting Actor: Rishi Kapoor for film Kapoor & Sons

Best Supporting Actress: Shabana Azmi for film Neerja

Best Male Debut: Diljit Dosanjh for film Udta Punjab

Best Female Debut: Ritika Singh for film Saala Khadoos

Best Music Director: Pritam for film Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Singer (Female): Neha Bhasin for song "Jag Ghoomeya" of Sultan

Best Playback Singer (Male): Arijit Singh for song "Ae Dil Hai Mushkil" of Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Lyricist: Amitabh Bhattacharya for "Channa Mereya" of Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Story: Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre Dhillon for film 'Kapoor & Sons'

Best Screenplay: Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre Dhillon for film 'Kapoor & Sons'

Best Cinematography: Mitesh Mirchandani for film 'Neerja'

Best Editing: Monisha Baldawa for film 'Neerja'

Best Dialogue: Ritesh Shah for film 'Pink'

Best Costume: Payal Saluja for film 'Udta Punjab'

Best Background Score: Sameer Uddin for film 'Kapoor & Sons'

Best Action: Shyam Kaushal for film 'Dangal'

Best Visual Effects: Red Chillies for film 'Fan'

Best Choreography: Adil Shaikh for 'Kar Gayi Chull' in 'Kapoor & Sons'

Best Debut Director: Ashwini Iyer Tiwari for 'Nil Battey Sannata'

Best Actor (Male) in a Short Film: Manoj Bajpayee for film 'Taandav'

Best Short Film (Fiction): 'Chutney'

Best Actor (Female) in a Short Film: Tisca Chopra for film 'Chutney'

Best Short Film People's Choice: Khamakha

Best Short Film (Non-fiction): 'Matitali Kusti'

Filmfare RD Burman Award for New Music Talent: Amit Mishra for 'Bulleya' from 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil'

Critics' awards

Best Movie: Neerja

Best Director: Ram Madhvani for film Neerja

Best Actor: Manoj Bajpayee for film Aligarh and Shahid Kapoor for film Udta Punjab

Best Actress: Sonam Kapoor for Neerja

Films with most wins in the 2016 Filmfare awards is Neerja (5), Kapoor & Sons - Since 1921 (5), Dangal (4), Udta Punjab (4) and Ae Dil Hai Mushkil (4).

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए