Bhagwant Mann to be sworn in as Punjab CM on March 16, resigns as Sangrur MP

Bhagwant Mann will be sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Punjab in the native village of freedom fighter Bhagat Singh on March 16, 2022. 

Created On: Mar 12, 2022 13:55 ISTModified On: Mar 14, 2022 18:23 IST
Bhagwant Mann meets Punjab Governor to stake claim to form government
Bhagwant Mann meets Punjab Governor to stake claim to form government

Punjab CM-designate Bhagwant Mann submitted his resignation from membership of Lok Sabha to Speaker Om Birla on March 14, 2022. He was an elected Lok Sabha MP from  Sangrur constituency. 

The AAP MLA-elect will be sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Punjab in the native village of freedom fighter Bhagat Singh on March 16, 2022. He has requested people to reach Khatkar Kalan on March 16th for the swearing-in ceremony.

"I request my brothers to wear yellow turbans that day and sisters to drape yellow shawls/stoles. We will colour Khatar Kalan in 'Basanti rang' that day," said Punjab CM-designate Bhagwant Mann. 

He said ahead of the Parliamentary session today, "I will miss this House. Punjab has given me huge responsibility. But I promise people of Sangrur that a bold voice will echo in the House soon. I thank people who trusted & voted for their son."

The APP candidate had met Punjab Governor Banwarilal Purohit at Raj Bhavan in Chandigarh on March 12 to stake claim to form the government in the state.

Bhagwant Mann said, "I met Gov, handed over letter of support from our MLAs & staked claim to form Govt. He told me to tell him wherever we want to hold swearing-in ceremony. It'll be held at the native village of Bhagat Singh, Khatkar Kalan at 12.30 pm on March 16."

He said that people from houses across Punjab will come to the ceremony, they will also pay tribute to Bhagat Singh. "We will have a good cabinet, historic decisions -that were never made before - will be made. So, you will have to wait," he added. 

The 48-year-old was elected the leader of the AAP Legislature Party at a meeting of the party MLAs in Mohali on March 11. 

Check Punjab Election Results 2022

AAP won a historic victory in Punjab Assembly Elections 2022 by claiming 92 seats in the 117-member assembly, decimating both Congress and Akali Dal and reducing them to 18 and 3 seats respectively. AAP candidates defeated several political stalwarts in the state including SAD patriarch Parkash Singh Badal and Chief 

Sukhbir Singh Badal and former Punjab CM Capt Amarinder Singh, current Punjab CM Charanjit Singh Channi and Punjab Congress Chief Navjot Singh Sidhu. Punjab CM and Congress leader Charanjit Singh Channi lost both his seats- Bhadaura and Chamkaur Sahib. He submitted his resignation to the Punjab Governor yesterday and was asked to continue till the new CM is sworn in. 

Read also: Charanjit Singh Channi steps down as Punjab CM 

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Read the latest Current Affairs updates and download the Monthly Current Affairs PDF for UPSC, SSC, Banking and all Govt & State level Competitive exams here.
Comment (0)

Post Comment

8 + 5 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF April 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF March 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF February 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF January 2022
    • Current Affairs PDF December 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF April 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF March 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF February 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF January 2022
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF December 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    View all