1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Churchill Brothers won the 35th Football Federation Cup

Jan 26, 2014 14:59 IST

Churchill Brothers won the 35th Football Federation Cup on 25 January 2014. In the final held at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Cochin, Churchill Brothers beat Sporting Clube de Goa 3-1 to lift their maiden Federation Cup.

The goal scorers from Churchill Brothers were Balwant Singh, Alesh Sawant, and Abdel Hamid Shabana whereas the lone goal from Sporting Club de Goa was scored by Victorino Fernandes.

The maiden Federation Cup, made the Churchill Brothers richer by 25 lakh rupee which they got as prize money while the Runners-up collected 15 lakh rupees.

A total of 16 teams played in the 35th edition of the Federation Cup. The top goal scorer was Balwant Singh of Churchill Brothers who scored 4 goals in the tournament.

About Federation Cup

  • The Federation Cup is an annual knockout style club football tournament in India. It started in 1977. It is the most important club tournament after the I-League which started in 1997.
  • The winning club of the Federation Cup gets a chance to compete in the continental level in AFC Cup.
  • The 2012 Football Federation Cup was won by East Bengal who beat Dempo SC 3-2 in the final.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes40 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Churchill Brothers , Football Federation Cup , Balwant Singh

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK