Corporation Bank launched first MUDRA card under Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana

Jul 6, 2015 10:00 IST

Corporation Bank on 4 July 2015 launched country’s first MUDRA (Micro Units Development and Refinance Agency) card under the Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (PMMY) in Mangalore, Karnataka.

The card is based on the RuPay platform and facilitates the withdrawal and use of the working capital finance by micro entrepreneurs.

Under the PMMY, the bank launched three loan schemes-Shishu, Kishore and Tarun- to entrepreneurs based on their capacity to repay.

While Shishu scheme provides loan up 50000 rupees, an amount of up to 5 lakh rupees will be lent under the Kishore scheme. Under Tarun scheme loan up to 10 lakh rupees will be offered.

The Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (PMMY) was launched by PM Narendra Modi on 8 April 2015 under the Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana (PMJDY) to ensure credit facility to small entrepreneurs through Micro-Finance Institutions (MFIs).

Corporation Bank is one of the oldest banks in India that was founded in 1906. At present, Sadhu Ram Bansal is the Chairman and Managing Director of the bank.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes54 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Corporation Bank , MUDRA card , Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK