1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Gitanjali the Collection of Poems by Tagore released in 14 Languages

Aug 9, 2013 10:16 IST

Gitanjali: Collection of poems (song offerings) by Rabindranath Tagore

Gitanjali, the collection of poems (song offerings) by Rabindranath Tagore was released in 14 different languages at Kolkata by Mamata Banerjee, the Chief Minister of West Bengal on 8 August 2013.

About Gitanjali

• Gitanjali for the first time was published in 1913 and is a collection of 157 poems
• The English version of Gitanjali that is known as the Song Offerings is a collection of 103 English poems . These were self translated by Tagore and was published by the Indian Society of London. The English version contained translations of 53 poems from the original Bengali Gitanjali, as well as 50 other poems from Tagore's drama Achalayatan and eight other books of poetry 17 poems were taken from Gitimalya, 15 from Naivedya and 11 from Kheya.
• Gitanjali is composed from two words Git that means song and anjali that means offering, thus as a whole it means an offering of songs.

In 1913, Tagore became the first non-European to win the Nobel Prize for Literature, largely for the English Gitanjali.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes138 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Mamata Banerjee , Rabindranath Tagore , Gitanjali

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK