1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Great Britain defeated Belgium to win 2015 Davis Cup tennis title

Nov 30, 2015 12:50 IST

Great Britain on 29 November 2015 won the 2015 Davis Cup tennis title by defeating Belgium 3-1 at Ghent in Belgium.

While Leon Smith was the captain of the winning team, Andy Murray played a crucial role in the victory as he beat Belgium's David Goffin to clinch the decisive point.

Murray beat Goffin by 6-3 7-5 6-3 to give Great Britain 3-1 lead in the best-of-five tie.

With this win, Murray joined John McEnroe and Mats Wilander as the only men to have an 8-0 singles record in a Davis Cup year.

For Great Britain, it was the first title since 1936 which was won by defeating Australia. Overall, it was the tenth title for the team in the competition’s 116-year history.

About Davis Cup

• It is the premier international team event in men's tennis and considered as the world cup of tennis.
• It is run by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and is contested annually between teams from competing countries in a knock-out format.
• It began in 1900 as a challenge between Great Britain and the United States.
• The women's equivalent of the Davis Cup is the Fed Cup.
• So far, Australia, the Czech Republic and the United States are the only countries to have held both Davis Cup and Fed Cup titles in the same year.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes20 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Davis Cup , Great Britain , Belgium , Andy Murray

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK