ICC demerit point system: How does it work?

ICC demerit point system: Indian skipper Virat Kohli is just one demerit point away from getting suspended.

ICC Demerit Point System
ICC Demerit Point System

ICC demerit point system: Indian skipper Virat Kohli, who already had two demerit points, received another demerit point during India’s third T20I match against South Africa on September 22, 2019. Kohli is now just one demerit point away from getting suspended.

Virat Kohli received an official warning and one demerit point for an inappropriate shoulder contact with South African pacer Beuran Hendricks while taking a run during the fifth over of India’s innings. The Indian skipper admitted his offence and accepted the penalty points.

Virat Kohli has now accumulated three demerit points in less than 24 months. If he gets one more point before January 16, 2020, then his demerit points will be converted into suspension points.

Virat Kohli demerit points

1. Centurion Test – Skipper Virat Kohli received one demerit point during India’s test match against South Africa at the Centurion cricket ground in South Africa on January 15, 2018. Kohli was penalized for his misbehaviour with an on-field umpire.

2. World Cup -Virat Kohli received his second demerit point during India's World Cup group stage match against Afghanistan for excessive appealing.

ICC demerit points system: What is it?

ICC's demerit points system is a player's personal disciplinary record. They get expunged after a 24-month time period.

How does it work?

When a player reaches four or more demerit points within 24 months, the demerit points are converted into suspension points leading to a player getting suspended from international cricket.

Two suspension points mean a ban for either one Test or two ODIs or two T20Is depending on which game is first.

ICC Code of Conduct

As per the ICC Code of Conduct, a level 1 breach carries a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and a maximum penalty of 50 percent of the player's match fee and either one or two demerit points. The revised ICC Code of Conduct was introduced in September 2016.

Level 1 breach of ICC Code of Conduct includes the following offences:

• Excessive appealing during an International Match

• Abuse of cricket equipment, ground equipment or fixtures or clothing

• Audible obscenity during an International Match

• Disobeying Umpire’s instruction during an International Match

• Use of offensive or insulting language, actions or gestures that could provoke an aggressive reaction from the batsman upon his/her dismissal during an International Match

• Using obscene, offensive or insulting gesture during an International Match

• Dissenting Umpire’s decision during an International Match.

• Inappropriate physical contact with a player or player support personnel during an International Match.

India’s upcoming matches

India has a lot of cricket to play before January 2020 including the ongoing series against South Africa. After this, India would be playing a home series against Bangladesh in November, followed by series against West Indies, Zimbabwe, Australia and New Zealand. 

Download our Current Affairs & GK app for Competitive exam preparation. Click here for latest Current Affairs: Android|IOS

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Read the latest Current Affairs updates and download the Monthly Current Affairs PDF for UPSC, SSC, Banking and all Govt & State level Competitive exams here.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Stories